Ghost Trick

  • Mystery-puzzle game
  • You're a ghost and you do tricks. Not a lot to be said there
  • Absolute masterpiece of a game
  • I cried at the end

Released on the Nintendo DS in 2010, Ghost Trick is a mystery-oriented game in which you, a red-suit-pointy-haired-sunglassed man named Sissel, try to uncover the mystery behind who killed you and why.

Only problem is: you can't remember anything prior to when you died. Additionally, using your ghost tricks (possessing an inanimate object and manipulating it), you discover can travel 4 minutes back in time before a person's death to prevent it. And so, using the red haired woman near your corpse as a lead, your venture into the night begins...

Ghost Trick is a really, really good game. It's a puzzle/platformer-type ish where you jump around possesing random objects to figure out how to prevent someone from dying paired with an intruiging and also heartbreaking mystery behind it. Also there's a pomeranian named Missile who is the best character ever!!!

I played Ghost Trick after it was revealed for a remaster in a Nintendo Direct, and I was like, hey, well, it sounds pretty darn interesting + made by the dude behind Ace Attorney, sign me the heck up!!! I ended up finishing it in the span of like, a week or so, and the night I ended up finishing it is a funny story too. When I finished Ghost Trick, I was coming home from church after the lights suddenly went out mid-service, and it was snowing like crazy too. Plus, the electricity was completely out and so it was all dark when I got home. I ended up playing through Ghost Trick until, like, 2 AM and finished it in tears.

In terms of difficulty, Ghost Trick isn't consistently hard; but a few chapters in particular stand out as being just frustrating to solve. cough cough that one fucking stealth mission chapter??????? I had to use a guide for some chapters, but it's really satisfying seeing the end result when it comes together. Something something, goldberg machines woo!!!

To close off on Ghost Trick: Do not search up anything prior to playing it, everything is spoilers. 10/10 game

Splatoon 3

  • Massive quality of life changes
  • Still doesn't stop me from being really bad at the damn game
  • I heart salmon run
  • Even if it means I'm supporting the apocalypse...whoops

Splatoon 3 is...well, gameplay wise I'm pretty ass at it and switch weapons up every match and I barely play outside of Salmon Run but it's pretty fun. I've just had a pretty hard Splatoon obsession since it released, anyway, so getting the 3rd game was a given.

I don't have anything much to say about the gameplay itself so I'll list my favourite weapons & songs instead.

Custom Splattershot Jr.

Simple enough. That's why JR. is in the title. Also I love being annoying as shit with this one

N-Zap

Use this one because I used it prior to Splatoon 3. Not the hugest fan of the kit, but it is what it is

Rapid Blaster

Similar reasons to the N-ZAP also because I love the direct hit sound and getting kills!!!! Not often though because I'm bad at games!!!



Self explanatory, also because I don't want to just clog this list with Deep Cut songs I'll list my other favourites here, that being Big Betrayal and Smeared Canvas.


Urrghh...uuurgghhh...so cool...


Chill song and also kind of makes me feel like I'm being spinned around on a tiny plate

Side Order

Splatoon 3's Off-the-Hook-and-Agent-Eight centered DLC, featuring a giant tower to climb, a roguelike system and some depressing connotations to the lore. I had fun with it! I'm more fond of the gameplay than I am of the story, though - a lot of people complained that it was alarmingly short - that is, if you're good at video games. It took me about 3 days to beat but I was really expecting it to take longer! That does make sense in the idea that each run of Side Order is randomized, and there is definitely a whole lot of stuff to do outside of the story campaign.

Side Order spoilers!

The story, honestly, was not a lot to sneeze at. Sword Art Online vs a computer virus, basically, and while the final boss was cool I felt like the ending was kind of cheesy hah. Still, I really enjoyed Marina's Dev Diaries and reading behind some of the lore (Agent 4 holy fuck), so the story really doesn't matter too much to me.

Fantasy Life

  • Why get a real life when I can have a fantasy life
  • There is a whole job/class dedicated to fishing. What else
  • Get lost in doing random crap for an hour
  • Characters my beloved

Fantasy Life has been one of my favourite games for a long time. I don't even remember when I got it, honestly, I just remember the times I'd play it for hours splayed over my bed!

Fantasy Life is a sort-of life simulator game where you pick between 12 life classes called Lives - real creative there - that you can pick from to screw around with.

There are the combat-oriented Lives (Paladin, Mercenary, Hunter and Wizard), the harvesting/gathering-oriented Lives (Angler, Woodcutter, Miner) and the crafting-oriented Lives (Cook, Tailor, Blacksmith, Alchemist and Carpenter). You don't need to stick with one throughout the game and it's actually much better to juggle a few throughout the game. Spice up your life, you know.

Fantasy Life also has a story! It's a pretty simple one; but the characters you meet throughout your journey in Reveria are all great ones. The dialogue is really funny too and had me laughing when I replayed it a bit back. Fantasy Life also has online play, but considering what Nintendo's going to do in the next few months, it's really unfortunate because boy I'd LOVE to play more with other people...

Anyways, if you have time to kill, and a sad notch in your brain, play Fantasy Life! It's criminally underrated and super, super fun!

Tomodachi Life

  • Goofy and simple brain distraction game
  • No other game I can be besties with Klavier Gavin and my fursona can marry Apollo Justice

Tomodachi Life is a classic in terms of Nintendo 3DS games. I vaguely recall seeing an advert for it in some kids' magazine when it first released, but didn't think too much of it at the time until I saw some Youtubers I watched get onto it. THEN I was interested in it.

It's a good game solely based on the fact that it's barely serious and that I can replay it over and over again. I know that it's kind of cruel to wipe an island clean once I get bored of them, but the slate of a new island is too inticing and it excites me to see the new relationships that form afterwards... Like, seriously, looking forward to who Walter White will befriend next is very fun.

The streetpass features of Tomodachi Life are pretty cool too. I recently got a traveler for the first time after bringing my 3DS to a con and experienced the joys of the campground feature...it's kind of sad when you think about it. These kids are doomed to travel their entire lives, hopping from island to island, always being tortured by the tangs of homesickness...plus, if an island gets deleted while there are travelers on there, do the travelers go with them?! That's horrific! But the music that plays there is nice.

Anyways! I'd put some pictures of my current island here but frankly I haven't played in a while and I would like to make a new save - maybe I'll post about them here. YOLO Island, population...uh, like, 30, I'd say... The funniest thing that happened on there is my fursona getting together with Apollo Justice and that Papyrus and Pheonix Wright got married.

YOLO Island (as of 01/23/24)


All of the miis are lovingly handcrafted in the Mii Studio. No relying on QR codes! Makes it feel a lot more personal.

Animal Crossing New Leaf

  • I vividly remember really wanting this one as a kid, but for some reason I never got it. Man, I missed out!

Ah, Animal Crossing...the top game on the 3DS that I've actually, uh, only gotten around to playing again recently...I did used to play it a lot, but I recently restarted my town after losing attachment to all of my villagers and wanting a clean slate.

I feel like there isn't a whole ton to say about the game itself; you know how it goes, you're thrown into the political system of a random town of furries, and suddenly you've got a thousand-dollar/bell rent charge slapped on you. Sounds stressful if it wasn't in Animal Crossing.

Currently, I reside in the town of Swan Tea with a population of like, I don't know, 11? I've only started, but I recently only started playing again because the 3DS servers were shutting down and I wanted to experience the joy of visiting my friends' towns and smacking them with toy hammers. But I've been having a lot of fun! I've been planting flowers all over my island and I hope to get back into the stalk market and flower breeding.